Are Oats Gluten Free?

Our Freedom Foodies tell us all the time that they are still confused about whether people on a gluten-free diet can eat oats.

Well the answer is that all oats do contain gluten, but it’s not that simple. See, oats naturally contain a type of protein called Avenin (i.e Oat Gluten) that is different to the type of gluten you find in wheat, rye, barley and triticale.

Now if you talk to Coeliac Australia, they say about 4 in 5 people with Coeliac Disease can still tolerate small quantities of oats (providing they are not contaminated with wheat or other grains) (Oats and the Gluten Free Diet, 2012, Coeliac Australia).

For further information please read the Coeliac Australia position statement on oats and seek medical advice on whether this applies to you.

You can eat oats, but what next?

If you’re lucky enough to be able to tolerate the gluten found in oats, the tricky bit is finding oats that haven’t been contaminated by wheat or other grains. Our farmers minimise contamination of the oats before every batch is optically sorted to remove non-oat grains.

At the factory we then test every batch of oats using incredibly strict gluten testing methods (i.e they are FreeOats!). We then test every finished product again to make sure they do not contain the gluten found in wheat, rye, barley and triticale.